The heat continues…

… and it just keeps getting hotter and hotter!

The temperature has continued to climb steadily over the last few days. What gets to me is not the heat, but the humidity. Any type of physical movement seems like a huge effort. You just walk out and begin to sweat.

Some water bottles come with a handkerchief for your face. Japanese people never stop to amaze me, they seem to have thought about everything.

In all of my adult classes I am always being asked how I’m doing with this heat. They all feel sorry for us and seem very concerned about whether or not we have AC in our apartments. They also tell me with a very apologetic look on their faces, that summer has not even arrived yet. According to them this weather is to continue until September.

They also say that winters can be quite cold. Somehow I cannot imagine that at all right now…

So, to keep cool we go to the river on our days off for a swim. I have never been a fan of cold water, so I just put my feet in the water and said that that was as far as I would go in, but was insisted upon to actually get in and stop being a chicken about cold water. So I went for the plunge and after the first shock it actually felt so good!

I only took 2 pictures, but I’m sure that there will be many more trips to the river in the near future. I also must apologize for the second picture as it looks like something out of a Pathfinder Truck commercial. That will also improve over time.


IMG_0028

IMG_0027

Keeping you posted!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rolliepollie
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 14:51:18

    pathfinder commercial hahahahaa
    this is beautiful though
    it looks kind of reclusive, not like crowded beaches

    also, i still can’t believe japan is hotter than egypt. i though egypt prepared you for everything and anything

    Reply

Leave a comment